Midweek Seizure

The Hubby had a grand mal seizure Wednesday morning. He was going to the bathroom after a late night of movies and just talking when it struck. I heard him hit the bathroom door where he not only broke the wood but got stuck causing his neck to be bent at a strange angle while seizing. The fall and strange angle worried me as well as the knowledge that I was too weak to move him to a safer breathing position so I called the paramedics. I called his mother as soon as they let me off the phone so she could come get me and head to the hospital.

img_0076

Lawrence Sr was on his way over, thankfully, so he was able to sit with me and calm me down while I waited for my MIL. He offered to stay behind to clean up some since there were some things that still needed picked up, one of the cats had vomited and Bailey was eyeballing it pretty hard. Sometimes I think dogs are the grossest animals on the planet with all of the things they put in their mouths.

When we got to the hospital I let the nurse know that he had hit his head and seized at a strange angle since the Hubby thought that it was a ‘normal’ seizure. That, coupled with the the headache before and after the seizure, caused them to order a CT scan to make sure everything was okay. Thankfully the scan turned up normal but the rest of the after seizure wasn’t normal. He is normally sore after a large seizure but this time he was so weak he couldn’t stand on his own. He had to have two people help him into a wheelchair to leave and use my walker when we got home. We were all really worried since he had to call into work the next day as well because he was still too weak.

img_0080

Thankfully he is able to walk and move around now with better ease which means he is going to work today. This is good for a number of reasons besides a paycheck. I can now use my walker to go to the bathroom without having to worry about him needing it at the same time. His stomach muscles are still really sore but that is most likely from a combo of the seizure and him coughing. Hopefully this weekend he can get some more rest and be less sore by Monday.

Leave a comment