Our Favorite Dinners

I know we don’t post a lot of things about the vegan aspect of our life. Honestly when I feel like I am going to write something I forget about it or I run out of it and….there is a lot of forgetting. I have terrible memory, need to work on that. Need to work on telling you about our soap (which is freaking awesome!), our favorite foods we are finding and the ones we don’t like (the cheese….the poor cheese….).

Right now I am going to share with you our favorite things to make right now. They are super easy, quite quick, and extremely delicious.

1. Mac and Cheese:

Who doesn’t love mac and cheese? All of us grew up on some version of it and have our favorite versions and variations of the stuff. I preferred Velveeta for the thick, creamy and tangy goodness of it all. Whenever I would smell that stuff cooking I would rush into wherever it was (or just take the package if I were making it) and I would suck the leftovers out of the package. Once I even cut that thing open and licked it clean.

Needless to say this is what I base my mac and cheese on. When we went vegan I sought for something close to my childhood favorite and I found it in this recipe from Epicurean Vegan. Tangy, creamy, and ridiculously easy it has become a weekly favorite in the house. Make sure you make double for when you want this again!

2. Chickpea Cutlets:

Pork Schnitzel was one of my favorite things as a child besides salmon patties and Velveeta. I know I’m not the only one who loves the slightly burnt pieces on their fried potatoes or the burnt cheese on the broccoli casserole, and schnitzel was the most amazing thing my taste buds could have. It was crispy and deliciously singed on the outside without being burnt in the middle. I actually preferred mine cold and dipped in ketchup but hey, hot off the frying pan was great too.

So I wanted something like that again. I went to one of my favorite vegan blogs, The Post Punk Kitchen, and found this wonderfully amazing recipe. It is so easy to make and you can play around with how you cook it. We fry it up and then bake it for a few extra minutes. I love the texture it has and the first bite I took out of it I sighed (okay I moaned) in Southern delight. The fried exterior was exactly what I had been missing. Next time I’m going to use the Vegg and make a milk and egg wash, roll it in cracker crumbs and make some schnitzel out of it.

I hope you love these recipes as much as we have. They are definitely going into our family cookbook.

Leave a Reply

